Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Jun 16th, 2011
By:
Phil Galfond
Game:
NLHE
Stake:
Mid Stakes
Teaching Method:
Session Video 3+ Table
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
7554 Views
10 Comments
10.0010
(6 Ratings) 10.00

Phil continues with part two of his 400NL 6max member review.

More From Phil Galfond  Get RSS Feed For Phil Galfond's Videos

Comments

  • PhilGalfond PhilGalfond Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    554 Posts
    Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    17 Jun 2011 at 1:23am
    Discussion for Phil's 400NL Member Review (2).
  • halvadron halvadron Poker Newbie
    105 Posts
    Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    17 Jun 2011 at 12:26pm
    finally some stuff from Phil
  • Becks777 Becks777 Poker Newbie
    13 Posts
    Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    18 Jun 2011 at 4:17am
    Min 42 Table one Hero just calls AK vs. UTG. You say our range is capped and we dont have AA or JJ. Why dont we have JJ? Would you 3bet JJ vs UTG but just call AK? If so, why? Flop is AhJh8c which hits UTGs range hard. Do you have a c/r range on this flop? How do you play 88 AJ maybe JJ? Do you c/c to protect your c/c range? If you c/r these Hands with which Hands do you c/r bluff to balance? If we c/r does that make our c/c Range to weak?
  • babaar babaar Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    20 Jun 2011 at 4:59am
    When you c/r the Qxx flop with KK and the flush hits on the turn, if you had a set do you prefer b/c b/f or c/c on the flush completing turn? Ihave alwas ended up b/c (b/f against nits) in this spot but im wondering whether c/c is actually better?
  • LuckyMr LuckyMr Poker Trainee
    85 Posts
    Re: Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    20 Jun 2011 at 9:03am

    babaar wrote:

    When you c/r the Qxx flop with KK and the flush hits on the turn, if you had a set do you prefer b/c b/f or c/c on the flush completing turn? Ihave alwas ended up b/c (b/f against nits) in this spot but im wondering whether c/c is actually better?

    it's all about reads, if your opp will be happy to checkdown his top pair and will never bluff when you check to him on 3f-turn, it is one situation, another situation when your opponent is some kind of crazy fish, who enjoy bluffing a lot, your bettter off checking to him.. Another situation is when your opponent could have floated your flop raise with air or 2d or 3d pair and will decide to bluff 2streets when you check to him..

    Moreover, almost anyone on the planet will pay you off to your river bet when you check turn, but a lot of ppl will fold top pair to your turn bet expecting you to continue bluffing or valuebetting river.

  • LuckyMr LuckyMr Poker Trainee
    85 Posts
    Re: Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    20 Jun 2011 at 9:26am

    Becks777 wrote:

    Min 42 Table one Hero just calls AK vs. UTG. You say our range is capped and we dont have AA or JJ. Why dont we have JJ? Would you 3bet JJ vs UTG but just call AK? If so, why? Flop is AhJh8c which hits UTGs range hard. Do you have a c/r range on this flop? How do you play 88 AJ maybe JJ? Do you c/c to protect your c/c range? If you c/r these Hands with which Hands do you c/r bluff to balance? If we c/r does that make our c/c Range to weak?

    Phil is busy i guess, so here are some of my thoughts

    You are thinking about balancing and hand combinations, thats cool, but you should also think about your opponent tendencies, his range and our percieved range.

    Some opponents will not 2 or 3 barrel here, because when you call from BB vs UTG, you have Ax, good broadway or pocket pairs, pocket pairs you will fold to flop bet, no reason to float there, broadway stuff like KJ QJ JT you will fold to 2d or 3d barrel, but you will fold some percentage of time Ax only to 3d barrel  (on bad boards)

    But also it depends on your opponent, i know that my opponent in this hand likes to barrel a lot, and he will probably barrel river if he missed some draws, because he can represent a lot of value hands on this board, so i decided to c/call 3st.

    And actually if you c/raise here, you are representing very strong hands, so i would almost never c/raise here for value against regular, unless i did this in a similar spot and was caught bluffing, or my opp folded and does not know my hand.

  • babaar babaar Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    20 Jun 2011 at 10:16am
    Good posts MrLucky. (Regarding when we c/r a set on the Qxx and the turn is a flush) seems like we're generally better off checking the turn against a range of opponents even tho the reaons for doing it can be very very different.
  • Ninja666 Ninja666 Poker Newbie
    5 Posts
    Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    21 Jun 2011 at 4:24pm
    Hey phil, thank you for a vid. You are talking how awesome is note taking. Could you produce concept video about note taking? Thank you.
  • MadBoy MadBoy Poker Trainee
    81 Posts
    Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    26 Jun 2011 at 12:29pm
    Min. 15 - KK: The problem which I have here definitely with checking on the turn is that you will become here extremely, almost ridic unbalanced. The reason for that is that you would continue here mostly all of your bluffcombos, when the FD comes in... When you now start to check here KK, then what is your valuebettingrange here? obv. it becomes way too small then.... In addition to protect your bluffingrange here, betting has also the additional merit that you can protect your PotEQ, if you are ahead what is mostly the case...
  • Ziiigmund1 Ziiigmund1 Poker Newbie
    1 Posts
    Re: Phil's 400NL Member Review (2)
    22 Jul 2011 at 2:39am
    I didn't download this video succesfully How can I re-download? Thanks

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.