Niman's TomJetland Review (4)

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Dec 5th, 2011
By:
Niman Kenkre
Game:
NLHE
Stake:
Small Stakes
Teaching Method:
Session Video 3+ Table
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
2488 Views
16 Comments
8.7110
(7 Ratings) 8.71

Niman concludes this series with part 4 reviewing TomJetland's play.

More From Niman Kenkre  Get RSS Feed For Niman Kenkre's Videos

Comments

  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    6 Dec 2011 at 1:23am
    Discussion for Niman's TomJetland Review (4).
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    6 Dec 2011 at 3:44am
    I did not expect to learn that much from just a 1 hour playtime video. Excellent articulation and depth of analysis. Thank you!
  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    6 Dec 2011 at 9:04pm
    Thanks for the great compliment Tom. You played really well in the session, and I really enjoyed doing the series. Best of luck at the tables!
  • DrReality DrReality Poker Newbie
    10 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    7 Dec 2011 at 12:04pm
    Your son scored 67 goals himself? Or the team scored 67 goals? Either way, if you're son scored >=3 goals per game he's shaping up to be Ronaldo or Messi :-)
  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Re: Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    7 Dec 2011 at 1:57pm

    DrReality wrote:

    Your son scored 67 goals himself? Or the team scored 67 goals? Either way, if you're son scored >=3 goals per game he's shaping up to be Ronaldo or Messi :-)

    Haha - yes he scored 67 goals in 7 games himself.  The rest of the team scored about 20 cimbined.  We had a total of just over scored against us on the season.  He is a beast!  :)

  • StuZero StuZero Poker Newbie
    29 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    8 Dec 2011 at 10:22am
    WOW Sounds like your son has some talent there!
  • Tranqville Tranqville Poker Newbie
    42 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    8 Dec 2011 at 10:40am
    Niman, your commentary and analysis are crystal clean, logical and accurate. Learned a lot from the series, which turned out to be one of your best. The plays you suggest are as close to "perfect" poker as anything. I would very much like your next series to be kind of "advanced" poker, to show how "perfect" lines can be countered, how to take our games to the next level. I understand it is very difficult, requires creative thinking, and not something that is easy to teach, but i would be very interested in your showing the direction. I'm thinking something like HH review format where you show a hand, one perfect line, and also an alternative, "creative" line, maybe educated by a specific read or adjustment. Maybe there is not much room for that in 100bb NLHE, so perhaps the deep-stacked series would be even more beneficial. Congrats on your son's performance! :)
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    9 Dec 2011 at 2:01am
    I almost feel not being in the position to suggest a format for some of your next videos, since i was honored so much with my play being part of the site ;). But as a member i still want to say that your level of thinking and teaching, and i don't want to suck up to you, is kind of underchallenged in 100bb NLHE as the previous poster suggested. I think a video consisting of a concept part and a play or hand review part would be best, even though very time consuming to produce.
  • StuZero StuZero Poker Newbie
    29 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    9 Dec 2011 at 2:40am

    I really liked the format as it is.

     

    It was good to see a player who naturaly got the balence right.. played well enough that most hands were being played well yet making enough mistakes that you had stuff to comment on.

     

    I felt I learned more from you pointing out his mistakes than I usually do from watching videos where the the play is better because he was making the kind of mistakes that I make too.

     

    Often mistakes are overlooked because there are spots that coaches either domt make the same kind of mistakes themselves or dont pick hands where therse common mistakes are made.

     

    So Id like to see more of the same TBH.

  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    11 Dec 2011 at 3:26pm

    I thought about the reason for me playing so many good draws so passively, and i came to the conclusion that it is the same reason for me calling with speculative hands preflop as you suggest, rather than 3bet/fold them as is common in high stakes games these days.

    Namely, i want to call as much as i can profitably, and 3bet and check-raise more polarized, so that i can play more hands profitably in total. I understand that i sacrifice a bunch of fold equity when playing draws not as semibluffs but as "semifloats", but you do and advise the same with preflop calling hands, both ip and oop. I don't get the intrinsic difference.

    The only connection i can see is to call many speculative hands preflop to play them aggressively postflop, which leads to a very bluffheavy raising and barreling range postflop.

    This is a very important topic for me (in terms of poker) and i hope you get the time to answer to that thought.

    Tom

  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    16 Dec 2011 at 7:01pm
    Nevermind, i found the solution to this problem. I had a totally flawed thinking process about the game. Thanks.
  • Reliable Reliable Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    18 Dec 2011 at 4:20am

    (double post)

  • Reliable Reliable Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    18 Dec 2011 at 4:22am

    tompoker88 wrote:

    Nevermind, i found the solution to this problem. I had a totally flawed thinking process about the game. Thanks.

    Please elaborate on this!

    Congratulations on your play, nonetheless!

  • lettulettu lettulettu Poker Newbie
    5 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    18 Dec 2011 at 9:16pm
    Thanks for the series, loved it!
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Re: Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    20 Dec 2011 at 12:09am

    Reliable wrote:

    Please elaborate on this!

    Congratulations on your play, nonetheless!

    The logical flaw in my question post, which thankfully was not answered by Niman (not being sarcastic), lies in the statement that i wanted to play as many hands as possible in a profitable way. This is not what making money in Poker is about. It is about building ranges for each play that lead to the most total-EV.

    I am not even sure now if i just misworded it or if i thought that way, because my thinking about the game changed dramatically in the last couple of days.

    I won't go into detail on those changes, hope you understand.

    -Tom

  • bhtopspin bhtopspin Poker Newbie
    21 Posts
    Re: Niman's TomJetland Review (4)
    23 Jan 2012 at 4:10am
    Excellent series. Good job both Tom for playing and Niman for explaining and making sense out of tough spots. I have similar issue as is Tom with playing draws rather passively. From my perspective, the danger of being re-raised and blown off my draw sometimes is too much to overcome. It is, however very important to realize if your opponent is weak, the fold equity will exceed draw equity very often. I am working and trying to improve on the exact same problem.

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.