Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Sep 13th, 2011
By:
Niman Kenkre
Game:
NLHE
Stake:
Mid Stakes
Teaching Method:
Session Video 3+ Table
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
3502 Views
17 Comments
10.0010
(4 Ratings) 10.00

Niman continues with part 2 from his 2PairWind review played at midstakes NL.

More From Niman Kenkre  Get RSS Feed For Niman Kenkre's Videos

Comments

  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    14 Sep 2011 at 1:53am
    Discussion for Niman's 2PairWind Review (2).
  • doncamatic doncamatic Poker Newbie
    15 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    14 Sep 2011 at 6:46am
    Hi Niman, great video as always. I have a couple questions. 52:30 Table1: Hero flats A5dd and the flop is Kh3hJd. You talk about it being a good spot to checkraise and continue betting on the turn with the backdoor equity you have but how would you play an Ace on the turn if you checkraise and get called?
  • doncamatic doncamatic Poker Newbie
    15 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    14 Sep 2011 at 12:16pm
    Oh and would you consider bluffing on a heart turn as well?
  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    15 Sep 2011 at 7:14am
    Great questions doncamatic. A couple things. First of all, if I did decide to check raise this flop, I would give up on the turn unless I pick up some of my backdoor outs. If called, I would usually not keep betting unless a diamond, deuce, or four came up. A heart also can work well as one of your fake outs. On the other hand, an ace on the turn is a little tricky. I would probably check and evaluate against most opponents, but if my opponent was aggressive and well balanced, I might just go ahead and keep betting - especially if he is a sheriffy type of player. ... As far as your second question, yes, a heart is a very good bluffing card against the type of player that would (a) get it in earlier with a flush draw himself (or do something other than call a check raise on the flop if he had a flush draw) and/or (b) would put a flush draw as a big part of your check raising range. I'm going to be traveling now and won't have much access to the internet for a few days. I'll check back and answer more questions early next week.
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    15 Sep 2011 at 8:15pm
    this could be a level to get action, considering this is 3/6 and 5/10.
  • BuckWild BuckWild Administrator Poker Pro
    590 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    16 Sep 2011 at 10:54am
    In all fairness Tom, the member reached out to us asking if we were taking member submissions and that he plays games up to 5/10. I said yes, if he wanted to record a session, please "record some 2/4 - 5/10 footage", as I figured members would like some midstakes play as well as those being his regular games.
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    16 Sep 2011 at 10:30pm
    sorry for my rude post, just getting paranoid with all the cheating accusations happening right now and in the last weeks + bad day. i can not delete it.
  • BuckWild BuckWild Administrator Poker Pro
    590 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    16 Sep 2011 at 10:39pm

    Heh, understood.  I can delete it if you would like!

  • allwind allwind Poker Newbie
    24 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    17 Sep 2011 at 3:06am
    I played this session. First a comment on my 3betting aggressive. Those I chose to 3bet fold a lot to 3bets (and 4bets). Like over 70%. So I chose to 3bet any hand in my opening range against these. This to get immediate value from my 3bet, rather than post flop value. The recreational player on table 3 folds 100% to 3bets over a small sample. My plan was to 3bet him until he adjusted and would be in a lose mode with me. The shortie on table 4. He folds 72% to 3bets. So I chose the strategy of 3bet wide. Also he opens a ton of small blinds like 50%. Then with SQUIRT in the end. I can see on my HUD he raises flop over 30% of the time. That is huge. Very unnormal. He also fires second barrel more than 50% of the time, which is also over average. His VPIP is not that low either. So I opt to solve this problem with aggression. SQUIRT also 3bets over 40% in heads up. He likes to carry on with his bet on the turn. Then the first hand, where I 3bet the recreational player. I think the flop is to fold is better. If I chose to 3bet, then click it back is better I think. No need to make it big. I also do not think he will be able to fold his Jx by the river. He is recreational with a VPIP of over 40. They just can not fold top pair. On the turn I was trying to get him to fold a pocket pair. But I do not like this bet. Against a regular I would like to have seen myself shove the river. But not against a recreational player.
  • allwind allwind Poker Newbie
    24 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    17 Sep 2011 at 3:10am
    My previous comment was suposed to have been for part 1, and I have posted it there as well. I am unable to delete or edit in my first post. I believe Niman gives very good comments. Especially his ability to go deep and visualize different scenarios I like a lot. I do not feel like Niman is after me. I feel he has a different style than me. I think this is due to me having a lot of stats from my HUD available. I appreciate a lot Niman's comments.
  • robburgundy robburgundy Poker Newbie
    5 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    21 Sep 2011 at 8:47am
    On table 4 at 21:00, I am usually betting this turn against most standard players, I think we're good the vast majority of the time ( I think villain often has hit a Q ) and feel like we're more likely to get called on the turn then on the river,.and there are a lot of rivers that we're just gonna have to check back,like on a K or J, as well as villain being very unlikely to bluff the river
  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    21 Sep 2011 at 8:56am

    Robburgundy, if you want me to pipe in with my thoughts and analysis of the hand you are talking about, please provide the details of the hand.  Thanks!

  • robburgundy robburgundy Poker Newbie
    5 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    21 Sep 2011 at 9:10am
    Ah ok, it's btn vs bb, we get donked into on A7Thh, then villain checks a Q turn bringing second flush draw, I obviously wasn't paying enough attention, when I posted I thought we had been c/r on the flop. I still think I prefer betting the turn though.
  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Re: Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    21 Sep 2011 at 9:15am

    robburgundy wrote:

    Ah ok, it's btn vs bb, we get donked into on A7Thh, then villain checks a Q turn bringing second flush draw, I obviously wasn't paying enough attention, when I posted I thought we had been c/r on the flop. I still think I prefer betting the turn though.

    You still haven't mentioned what the hero's cards were.

  • robburgundy robburgundy Poker Newbie
    5 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    21 Sep 2011 at 9:19am
    Haha, Sorry I'm not very good at this, hero has A3ss (no FD) aswell as how the hand actually played out, had we been c/r on the flop, do you bet turn?
  • NimanKenkre NimanKenkre Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    1191 Posts
    Re: Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    21 Sep 2011 at 9:27am

    robburgundy wrote:

    Haha, Sorry I'm not very good at this, hero has A3ss (no FD) aswell as how the hand actually played out, had we been c/r on the flop, do you bet turn?

    Definitely not a spot to bet if we just called a donk on the flop, as villains continuing range to our bet should be well ahead of our range.  If we were check raised on the flop instead, we can bet the turn if we know enough about our villain's tendencies such that we can feel comfortable with our decision (whther that is go with our hand or to fold) based on our opponent's range and tendencies - if we get check raised again.

  • robburgundy robburgundy Poker Newbie
    5 Posts
    Re: Niman's 2PairWind Review (2)
    26 Sep 2011 at 9:02pm
    So what sort of hands do you think villain is checking the turn with? I feel like he mainly has weak/medium strength hands (like QJ, which we have a better chance of getting value from on the turn than river) or bluffs which he's giving up on anyway, so we might as well bet turn.

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.