Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Dec 1st, 2011
By:
Dusty Schmidt
Game:
NLHE
Stake:
Small Stakes
Teaching Method:
Session Video 3+ Table
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
4855 Views
17 Comments
9.0010
(9 Ratings) 9.00

Dusty shows members how he reviews and breakdowns opponents by reviewing session footage of 200NL and 400NL.

More From Dusty Schmidt  Get RSS Feed For Dusty Schmidt's Videos

Comments

  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    2 Dec 2011 at 1:20am
    Discussion for Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm.
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    2 Dec 2011 at 5:24am
    Is open folding 75s in CO (table #4 @13:00) a standard for you? Do you think it is a problem, that your opponent can play perfectly against your 3bet-shove with KQ on table 6 @48:00 ? I like the format, good video.
  • ezygoer ezygoer Poker Newbie
    10 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    3 Dec 2011 at 11:31am
    Great video.You are the best that I have ever seen at explaining why you make the moves that you do.You do treat your poker like a business.
  • ezygoer ezygoer Poker Newbie
    10 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    3 Dec 2011 at 11:31am
    Great video.You are the best that I have ever seen at explaining why you make the moves that you do.You do treat your poker like a business.
  • sTrAtO sTrAtO Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    3 Dec 2011 at 2:18pm
    I enjoyed it. Hopefully you will release the 2nd part soon cause I feel that there's not that much 6max/FR NLHE content lately.
  • Mathhnes Mathhnes Poker Newbie
    8 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    4 Dec 2011 at 7:25pm
    The KQs hand at 33:45 I agree about what you said about getting the one street is better on the river. My concern is though, that the hands you get value from on the river is really narrow now that the 9 came giving an AQ949 board, making you split with any Qx. I figure you only target TT-JJ occasionally 77-88 which i think is a very narrow value range now that weaker players tend to show up with slowplayed hands / weak ax more often in these spots. Did you simply misread the board or would you still recommend betting small since it's hard for him to have much after checking three times?
  • d0zer1 d0zer1 Poker Newbie
    14 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    6 Dec 2011 at 12:49pm
    Hey Dusty, this is kind of unrelated to this video and more about the database analysis video you did some time ago which got me going through my own database in hopes of plugging some leaks. I can't quite figure this out on my own and it's going to come off as a bit stupid but whatever. Basically if I am seeing in my database over roughly 1.5M hands, that certain hands I am used to opening are breaking even or losing, should I not be playing them ? Like the whole concept of making the most +EV decisions would lead me to think that clearly it's going to be a mistake to open hands that I am losing $ with in the long run, however by playing looser I am also making sure that I get payed off with my bigger hands which is pretty much unquantifiable (sry english isnt my native language, hope u get the point). Like how loose is too loose and how far can i go sacrificing small preflop edges in order to create bigger postflop edges without leaking money etc. would really appreciate if you could touch a little on this, thanks
  • Mr_Wade Mr_Wade Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    7 Dec 2011 at 9:00am
    From every video i've seen from you , this is for sure the best one you have done so far. well done. Very well articulated and clear though process. good job. on min 37: you have AcK on 983cc - J turn... you say that vs a reg you would fire turn. why? you didn't turn equity and the board is now more coordinated putting a lot more of pair+guts... whats your play? bet... bet ? and why?
  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Re: Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    9 Dec 2011 at 1:43am

    tompoker88 wrote:

    Is open folding 75s in CO (table #4 @13:00) a standard for you? Do you think it is a problem, that your opponent can play perfectly against your 3bet-shove with KQ on table 6 @48:00 ? I like the format, good video.

    Folding 75s is iffy. It depends on who is in the blinds, whether the button is passive etc.

     

    As for the KQ hand, you make a good point, but at the same time, what other option do we really have here? It seems like no matter how we play it, there aren't really a ton of good options. We can't fold because this is a pretty good spot for my opponent to be bluffing and we can be folding a hand to a complete bluff too often agianst an aggressive opponent. If we flat, then we are in a spot like I was talking about in the video where it is very tough to play against.

  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Re: Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    9 Dec 2011 at 1:49am

    Mathhnes wrote:

    The KQs hand at 33:45 I agree about what you said about getting the one street is better on the river. My concern is though, that the hands you get value from on the river is really narrow now that the 9 came giving an AQ949 board, making you split with any Qx. I figure you only target TT-JJ occasionally 77-88 which i think is a very narrow value range now that weaker players tend to show up with slowplayed hands / weak ax more often in these spots. Did you simply misread the board or would you still recommend betting small since it's hard for him to have much after checking three times?

    I feel he almost never has an ace here on the river. maybe from time to time of course, but keep in mind this is a fish and fish are not known for big folds, so I think I can get looked up even from a naked king in this spot from time to time. I think he could easily call me down with any pair here as well so those are really the hands I am targeting. i think I get value from worse far more often than I get value town myself.

  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Re: Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    9 Dec 2011 at 1:49am

    ezygoer wrote:

    Great video.You are the best that I have ever seen at explaining why you make the moves that you do.You do treat your poker like a business.

    Thank you very much!

  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Re: Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    9 Dec 2011 at 1:52am

    d0zer1 wrote:

    Hey Dusty, this is kind of unrelated to this video and more about the database analysis video you did some time ago which got me going through my own database in hopes of plugging some leaks. I can't quite figure this out on my own and it's going to come off as a bit stupid but whatever. Basically if I am seeing in my database over roughly 1.5M hands, that certain hands I am used to opening are breaking even or losing, should I not be playing them ? Like the whole concept of making the most +EV decisions would lead me to think that clearly it's going to be a mistake to open hands that I am losing $ with in the long run, however by playing looser I am also making sure that I get payed off with my bigger hands which is pretty much unquantifiable (sry english isnt my native language, hope u get the point). Like how loose is too loose and how far can i go sacrificing small preflop edges in order to create bigger postflop edges without leaking money etc. would really appreciate if you could touch a little on this, thanks

    I think that for the most part you should eliminate the hands you are losing money with. Of course if it turns you into a 14/12 6 max player, then obviously that will make it difficult to make any money. So unless you think it will dramatically alter your vpip/pfr and at the same time, change the overall perception of your game to your opponents significantly, then I would definitely recommend getting rid of the losing hands.

  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Re: Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    9 Dec 2011 at 2:02am

    Mr_Wade wrote:

    From every video i've seen from you , this is for sure the best one you have done so far. well done. Very well articulated and clear though process. good job. on min 37: you have AcK on 983cc - J turn... you say that vs a reg you would fire turn. why? you didn't turn equity and the board is now more coordinated putting a lot more of pair+guts... whats your play? bet... bet ? and why?

    Thanks for the compliment. That is much appreciated!

    Yeah, I think my thought process is so so in this hand. I think taking a line of just barreling through (unless a straight card comes and is too likely to give my opponent a straight or two pair) is fine almost simply because anytime you raise pre and bet all 3 when getting check called is hard to ever be too bad.

    But at the same time, I may even prefer just checking back the flop and calling a lot of  safe turns (and then if checked to on the river maybe take the showdown or maybe turn our hand into a bluff) as well. I think both are close and you can make a case for both.

    I would fire against a reg who can actually fold a pair by the river, but against this fish I had no hope winning the hand unless maybe I made a huge overbet on the river which might be pretty sexy :)

  • vitinhodzi vitinhodzi Poker Newbie
    26 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    27 Jan 2012 at 7:34am
    Great Video Dusty. But I have one question. Why your notes are so long? During the game u cant stop to read 5 lines about one hand. Can you?
  • MagicCarpet MagicCarpet Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    4 Apr 2012 at 7:24pm
    Great vid, Dusty - thanks. One question about your shove with KQs on a draw-heavy K67 two-tone flop at 48 mins in. I get your logic for a shove rather than a small raise given all the turn cards that put you in a horrible spot OOP. My question is how your decision would change if you were deep stacked in this situation. How many BB deep would you have to be until you altered your decision (for fear of 66, 77 or maybe even 89d) and what would your alternative move be?
  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Re: Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    4 Apr 2012 at 9:35pm

    vitinhodzi wrote:

    Great Video Dusty. But I have one question. Why your notes are so long? During the game u cant stop to read 5 lines about one hand. Can you?

    I often review my notes prior to the session and simply go off of memory while playing. I will scan my notes during game time from time to time, but I mostly go off of memory.

  • DustySchmidt DustySchmidt Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    110 Posts
    Re: Re: Leatherass Reviews Gamefilm
    4 Apr 2012 at 9:38pm

    MagicCarpet wrote:

    Great vid, Dusty - thanks. One question about your shove with KQs on a draw-heavy K67 two-tone flop at 48 mins in. I get your logic for a shove rather than a small raise given all the turn cards that put you in a horrible spot OOP. My question is how your decision would change if you were deep stacked in this situation. How many BB deep would you have to be until you altered your decision (for fear of 66, 77 or maybe even 89d) and what would your alternative move be?

    If I were really deep I likely would just have to fold here given that I can make a very large mistake and can find so little edge in the hand doing anything differently. If my opponent is super wide often in these spots when we are deep stacked then I may take a different approach to the hand. If he is raising less liberally then I think my decision gets easier as I am either slightly ahead or way behind.

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.