Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Nov 4th, 2011
By:
Dustin Bowman
Game:
SNG/MTT
Stake:
High Stakes
Teaching Method:
Replayed Hands
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
2389 Views
8 Comments
7.3310
(3 Ratings) 7.33

Dustin reviews his play from two $119 6max SNGs.

More From Dustin Bowman  Get RSS Feed For Dustin Bowman's Videos

Comments

  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    5 Nov 2011 at 1:31am
    Discussion for Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs.
  • Jimbozgrapes Jimbozgrapes Poker Prodigy
    345 Posts
    Re: Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    6 Nov 2011 at 8:50pm
    Hey dustin, how many buy ins should you have for $100+ games at a 5% roi to play in them with out going broke (for 6 and 9 mans)? What kind of downswings can you expect on a monthly bases playing an average of 100 games/day? I really wanna know how much $$ I should have before moving up in stakes. In the 18-mans I've been told 200 buy-ins is the minimum to work optimally, and to expect 60-80 buy in downswings on a monthly basis, I really wanna know what to expect in 9 and 6 mans
  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Re: Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    7 Nov 2011 at 9:47am

    6/9man bankroll requirements should be lower, but I wouldn't really want less than 200BI. It leaves you only a 0.1% risk of ruin (http://www.evplusplus.com/poker_tools/risk_of_ruin/). I wouldn't expect any better than 5% roi, though the games have looked soft since black friday. 60-80BI downswings are certainly possible in a month, but not an often occurrence in a 300 game sample. Take some shots during off peak hours, when games are particularly soft and regs can't mass table. Or, just watch my next video and own them.

  • Jimbozgrapes Jimbozgrapes Poker Prodigy
    345 Posts
    Re: Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    7 Nov 2011 at 6:51pm
    Yeah, well I am probably going to play around 2-3k games a month hopefully. Thanks a lot for the advice!! I was grinding $15 and $30s for a while with 100bi and went on an 80bi downstreak, soooo that sucked haha. Re-building my roll now and I am gonna try to play a lot and get up there with the big boys. 0.1% seems like a very low ror for the $100+ games with only 200 buy ins, that is pretty comforting that I won't need to grind tooooo hard. I am looking forwards to gettin up there :). Maybe I will actually get to pay my rent! yay
  • drseuss drseuss Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    11 Nov 2011 at 7:57am
    Maybe wait until you feel better next time, sniffling and snot running on keyboard was pretty brutal. Also, is there any consistency to your logic? It seems as if every situation is tackled half ass. Which is evident when you make incorrect decisions during the game and make glaring errors in multiple situations. And your only response is, oh guess that was a... More explanation to how you make range assumptions would clear things up. Other problems...A5 suited instafold because shoved previous hand? Awfully flawed logic that should not be in training vids. Looking forward to seeing you step it up though.
  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Re: Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    13 Nov 2011 at 12:59pm
    Yes, I apologize for not being on my a-game. I had a month-long virus and had to get a video out before I left the country. I now have videos saved up so it won't happen again. As far as analysis, my options are to do two hand histories with less thorough detailing or do one hand history with a more in depth review. I believe the former is more popular, but I suppose I could mix it up between the two. The next two videos are done and pretty interesting IMO.
  • coolwHip coolwHip Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    14 Nov 2011 at 2:41pm

    FFS drseuss, really? OCD much? the sniffling wasn't even noticeable, and, I mean, he was getting over a virus... what do you expect?

    I don't have a problem with you critiquing his analysis but opening sentence was lol

     

    Dustin, as far as your analysis I think you're doing a good job and like everyone you can also improve. I'd personally like to see you take more time and talk more about individual hands and what ranges you would be on in certain spots for what reasons, etc - tho I'm sure a lot of people are fine with being a bit less in-depth for the sake of getting to see more hands. you can't please everyone but like you said mixing it up is a good option.

    Looking forward to the new vid,

    - SiQ

  • drseuss drseuss Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: Dustin Reviews Two $119 6max SNGs
    14 Nov 2011 at 4:34pm

    K, just a quick reply. Didn't mean to come off as overly critical or rude. Reread my comment and seemed a bit harsh. (Honestly, was having my morning coffee and should wait until 2nd cup to wake up) More constructive way to put it...

    I was looking forward to seeing how successful sng player analyzes different spots at different blind levels. It seemed that agro guy was just stealing very easily up until blind level @200 and had no problem building significant chip advantage. Is this typical to not put any effort into outplaying and waiting for optimal shove and steal situaitons later? a5 clubs seemed like a decent resteal spot.

    Another question regarding the "in retrospect" use of stove. There was more than one situation where you came to a different conclusion of the optimal play after the fact. It seems sng edge comes down to those close spots so would appreciate your insight into constructing a solid decision making framework for gametime decisions. i.e range assumptions and their relation to fold equity for instance. Or is it not necessary to think that deeply about it?? Just used to Niman's 5 ways to look at each situation so maybe I am overcomplicating it.

    Anyway, just looking forward to a bit more situational analysis. Sounds like the next couple vids will be interesting. Looking forward to it.

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.