Drop2YaDance Review

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Oct 26th, 2010
By:
Alan Jackson
Game:
NLHE
Stake:
Micro Stakes
Teaching Method:
Replayed Hands
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
3319 Views
18 Comments
9.8810
(8 Ratings) 9.88

Alan Jackson reviews BFP member Drop2YaDance's 50NL session.

More From Alan Jackson  Get RSS Feed For Alan Jackson's Videos

Comments

  • BluefirePoker BluefirePoker Poker Newbie
    71 Posts
    Drop2YaDance Review
    26 Oct 2010 at 10:32pm
    Discussion for Drop2YaDance Review.
  • Drop2YaDance Drop2YaDance Poker Newbie
    24 Posts
    Thanks again for doing this, I...
    27 Oct 2010 at 12:29pm
    Thanks again for doing this, I really appreciate it. Comment box has size limit, but here goes: You open T2s OTB if it folds around to you in the blinds. Would you open 23o? Or where exactly or you drawing the line between open and fold OTB (I realize it depends on the players in the blinds too)?
  • Drop2YaDance Drop2YaDance Poker Newbie
    24 Posts
    The 5b ship w/ KQ was something...
    27 Oct 2010 at 12:33pm
    The 5b ship w/ KQ was something I learned from CTS/Tri's book. KQ's card removal eliminates about 1/3 of the combos in a QQ+/AK value felting range. Consequently I like to 4b/5b bluff w/ it a decent amount of the time (I obv 4b bluff w/ it more than I 5b bluff it). I totally agree with you that it has a nice amount of post-flop playability, and that w/o the right dynamic and especially in position, I should likely play it for a single raised pot. The QQ hand was awkward for me, I like turn donk
  • Drop2YaDance Drop2YaDance Poker Newbie
    24 Posts
    Oh yeah, just wanted to add that...
    27 Oct 2010 at 3:35pm
    Oh yeah, just wanted to add that I also am quite stoked about the premiere of Walking Dead. AMC has some good writers and I watched Mad Men religiously. Breaking Bad is also pretty cool, but I haven't had enough time to keep up w/ it as much. I'd definitely recommend watching all of Mad Men from somewhere like tv.blinkx.com or icefilms.info . /end rant
  • DonkeyFishFight DonkeyFishFight Poker Newbie
    25 Posts
    Thanks for the tip about The Walking...
    27 Oct 2010 at 10:40pm
    Thanks for the tip about The Walking Dead. The first episode was good. As for the video, I disagree with your thoughts on which hands to 3-bet in some spots. I definitely don't think you should prefer to 3-bet a hand like T9s BVB over a hand like T9o. The same goes for A5s/A5o MP versus BTN. The suited variant of the hands play very well postflop and we should be happy seeing a flop in position with them.
  • DonkeyFishFight DonkeyFishFight Poker Newbie
    25 Posts
    The unsuited variants don't play...
    27 Oct 2010 at 10:41pm
    The unsuited variants don't play nearly as well postflop and we should 3-bet them sometimes to turn a hand that's unprofitable to call with into a profitable 3-bet. We also shouldn't expect our 3-bets to get called much when we're in position, making 3-betting a hand like A5s, T9s or JTs a "waste", in my opinion. I'd like to hear your thoughts on this.
  • AJackson AJackson Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    492 Posts
    Button opening: V dependent on...
    28 Oct 2010 at 9:44am
    Button opening: V dependent on players on the blind. I'm usually opening anything suited. The more trouble my opponents give me, the more connected I want the suited cards. If the two blind player have a combined fold BB to steal of 145+ I will open any two.
  • AJackson AJackson Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    492 Posts
    3B'ing suited vs unsuited cards.....
    28 Oct 2010 at 9:56am
    3B'ing suited vs unsuited cards.. I give a pretty detailed explanation of my 3B'ing strat in my second stats video. If my opponents are going to fold to 3B's a lot, I am less likely to 'waste' hands that play well post flop. HOwever, I generally feel like I would like to have suited hands in bloated pots. In my games many player don't fold to 3Bs or cbets in 3B pots, suited cards give my strong equity spots to fire twice vs a weak range. W/out stats I much prefer to go w/ suited hands.
  • AJackson AJackson Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    492 Posts
    3B'ing cont....The question is,...
    28 Oct 2010 at 9:59am
    3B'ing cont....The question is, do you pick up more value flatting those suited hands than I do when I flop a big hand or can fire that turn barrel w/ high equity vs a often weak range? Given the bloated nature of 3B pots, you really have a lot of ground to make up when flatting w/ those hands.
  • ilikekicks ilikekicks Poker Newbie
    22 Posts
    uhhhhhhh, gonna review some 50nl...
    28 Oct 2010 at 12:54pm
    uhhhhhhh, gonna review some 50nl here, uhhhhhhhhh, dropped in limits uhhhhhhhh, tits uhhhhhhhh poker
  • AJackson AJackson Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    492 Posts
    I'll work harder on my speech patterns....
    29 Oct 2010 at 2:16am
    I'll work harder on my speech patterns. Listening to myself doing that def annoys me, so I'm not surprised it annoys others.
  • sammut sammut Poker Newbie
    8 Posts
    I really like the video...have...
    29 Oct 2010 at 7:19am
    I really like the video...have a question about the jqs hand where he overbets the river...isn't it possible that the button raiser has got a hand like ak, aq, aj where he could find a call... we could have a missed flush draw..sometimes or mostly we donk with a flush draw on the flop..but a missed draw is in our range...right? so, I think he could definetly find a call with aj+....
  • AJackson AJackson Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    492 Posts
    Sammut, yes he could certainly...
    31 Oct 2010 at 1:39am
    Sammut, yes he could certainly have those strong A hands and I would expect a call a majority of the time. It's really a math problem. He's going to fold hands like mid pocket pair and going to fold hands like Arag. The problem w/ the overbet is you have to be right a decent majority of the time, therefore you need signficantly more combos he's folding vs combos that are calling. I forget the size of the overbet, but you need something like a 2:1 ratio. It's close, obv.
  • AJackson AJackson Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    492 Posts
    I dont really have the overbet...
    31 Oct 2010 at 1:45am
    I dont really have the overbet bluff as a part of my game, but I do think there is a place for it. Since you need such a high success rate, you really need to know your opponents. FOr example unless I've seen you overbet several times, in this spot I'm usually folding one pair hands. However since I know this player, he's getting called here,very very light as I assume he range is super polarized and I suspect significantly weighted toward bluffs, thus making this move vs me -EV given my read
  • sammut sammut Poker Newbie
    8 Posts
    thanks a lot for the answer...hope...
    31 Oct 2010 at 8:30am
    thanks a lot for the answer...hope to see in future some videos like this
  • HissingFauna HissingFauna Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    if you would just be silent in...
    12 Nov 2010 at 6:44pm
    if you would just be silent in between your thoughts, or cut back like 5 mins of UHHHHHHH from this video....it might be fun to watch. unfortunately this is excruciating to listen to.
  • blue112 blue112 Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Drop2YaDance Review
    27 Dec 2010 at 10:04am
    uh ahh uh this was hard to listen to uh uh ahh uh had to turn it off after 5 mins ah uh
  • Helper Helper Poker Newbie
    12 Posts
    Re: Drop2YaDance Review
    29 Dec 2010 at 12:40pm
    intro before u start accutally to play is way to long man...

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.