DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Jun 4th, 2012
By:
Dustin Bowman
Game:
SNG/MTT
Stake:
High Stakes
Teaching Method:
Replayed Hands
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
1902 Views
12 Comments
10.0010
(3 Ratings) 10.00

Dustin reviews two high-stakes 6max SNGs with focus on three and four handed play.

More From Dustin Bowman  Get RSS Feed For Dustin Bowman's Videos

Comments

  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    4 Jun 2012 at 9:52am
    Discussion for DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play.
  • aoriordan aoriordan Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    4 Jun 2012 at 1:27pm
    around 6 mins in he folds 66 on the button to a min raise. he only has about 12 bbs left. Why such an easy snap fold? Is this standard?
  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    4 Jun 2012 at 5:28pm
    aoriordan- We are 24bb eff, not 12bb. I think I explained it pretty thoroughly in the video. In addition, Stevie definitely opens conservatively preflop. It's a closer spot if we're 12bb eff, I would reshove from the blinds, but probably just fold the button still.
  • rextar rextar Poker Trainee
    53 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    5 Jun 2012 at 1:21am
    25 mins in you talk about 3betting aqo for value 50bbs deep, does that mean you are getting it in if 4bet? If we are 3bet/folding doesn't that make it a better flat?
  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    6 Jun 2012 at 4:15pm

    @ rextar- Good question. And stay tuned, I know I have a very similar hand in an upcoming video (also with AQo) where I recommend 3betting for value with the intention of folding to 4 bet, and go into more detail.

     

    3 Betting with the intention to fold to a 4 bet does not inherently turn your hand into a bluff. The reason it works in this situation is because we have a player with a very specific range, or, rather, disparity between his {PFR/defend 3B range} and his {4B range}. We have a Laggy player that is opening over 25% pots, likely defending 3bets with nearly all of those hands and 4betting only a premium range at this stack depth (a 4bet range that AQ is insufficient to continue against). Essentially I am leaving money on the table by not getting more money in the pot preflop in position, against a ton of hands that I dominate, and I can then make a disciplined fold the small % he wakes up with a monster . It is also mandatory that I have AQ in this 3bet range, because it is important to have as many strong hands as possible in this range, besides premiums that are obviously going all the way. This way I can get the most out of him postflop.

     

    Generally speaking, against this type of player, my 3B range should be LESS polarized, meaning I would rather 3B AJo/ATo/KQo rather than J8s/ A5s, for the former hands are much more likely to be dominating him instead of myself being dominated when I hold J8s/A5s. This is an important concept, and I feel many players have a generic 3B range against all players which is completely wrong. I explain this concept some in my Q&A videos. Thanks for the question.

  • rextar rextar Poker Trainee
    53 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    6 Jun 2012 at 5:04pm
    awesome found it @ 6:00 on the 2nd vid. Great explanation, I guess I missed that tidbit the first time around
  • Jossel Jossel Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    7 Jun 2012 at 7:07am
    I think AQ has to be a call on the Turn - that is even before I saw his play with A9 - you are getting great odds and he seems like the kind of player to just bet stupidly in spots. I think folding is a big mistake. You have to ask yourself the question: what can he have? I think a big pair is somewhat unlikely - you have blockers but even generally, if he had a huge hand, he would probably make it bigger preflop after already having 3bet big before. Also there's a chance he'd be scared of betting the turn, when the Ten hits. If he does have some kind of Pocket Pair, you are likely to have 2 Overs btw too, so you get pretty good Potodds to peel one. Now and then of course he can have Tx and you get owned, but there's not that many Kombos out there with two tens on board. I'm not sure how likely a Riverbet is, and you're right it would totally suck if he made it - but I'd just be confident enough to make a decision then - if he bets something small I'd probably even pay it off getting good potodds and expecting to be good sometimes vs sth like KQ, 89s or chopping with Ahigh (imo a big part of his preflop range). It's just the sort of thing, he bets Turn randomly then on the River realizes that he was unlikely to get stuff to fold and bets the River again thinking he can rep it. Regards Jossel2008
  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    7 Jun 2012 at 10:50am
    Hey Jossel, long time no see ; ) - You have good points, but I think I still like it as played. I don't necessarily agree that he wouldn't 3bet monsters small. I understand the logic that he just 3 bet big so he should get max value now with his big hand, but most bad players' logic simply doesn't make it this far and they revert to level 1, 'I have a big hand, I want to suck him in.' Also, I think it is pretty likely that he would bet all pairs on the turn, and is in line with his small sizing as he may now be scared but feel obligated to protect his hand. I agree that it's fairly likely that he has A hi, but calling turn and potentially a river shove just to chop is a pretty poor proposition and I think he might keep barrelling A hi just for the hell of it. When you take out all pairs/Tx/4x/Ahi, I don't think I can put him on a super wide bluffing range. I just need more info that he's barrelling total airballs to call down light here.
  • AzeGallo AzeGallo Poker Newbie
    5 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    12 Jul 2012 at 2:14am

    @34:30~ with K5cc I think ICM overvalues our stack. and especially with future game situations accounted for (esp. if blinds are going up soon) i think this is a pretty good shove. I think you played it fine by getting it in. 
    @40:00~ with 65o, this is a fold and I don't think it is close at all. You're not paying attention to the ranges of SB vs BB when you fold. 
    Trying to go off of the ranges you were approx. giving them (and even being a bit more on the tight side)
    With azntracker calling you {44+, A5s+, A8o+, KJs+, KQo}, and BB calling you {44+, A2s+, A8o+, KJs+, KQo} 
    If azntracker shoves 86% here (he's probably shoving this wide or wider) and BB calls 19% {33+, A2s+, A7o+, K8s+, KJo+, QJs} (overcall of JJ+)
    Then shoving with 65o is  -0.22. and TBH I think this is a very conservative set of ranges. I really think it's much worse... 
    @43:00~ again, 98s, you are doing ICM calcs with azntracker shoving 24% if you were to fold your btn in a spot where he's shoving closer to ATC.

    @34:30~ with K5cc I think ICM overvalues our stack. and especially with future game situations accounted for (esp. if blinds are going up soon) i think this is a pretty good shove. I think you played it fine by getting it in. 

     

    @40:00~ with 65o, this is a fold and I don't think it is close at all. You're not paying attention to the ranges of SB vs BB when you fold. 

    Trying to go off of the ranges you were approx. giving them (and even being a bit more on the tight side)

    With azntracker calling you {44+, A5s+, A8o+, KJs+, KQo}, and BB calling you {44+, A2s+, A8o+, KJs+, KQo} 

    If azntracker shoves 86% here (he's probably shoving this wide or wider) and BB calls 19% {33+, A2s+, A7o+, K8s+, KJo+, QJs} (overcall of JJ+)

    Then shoving with 65o is  -0.22. and TBH I think this is a very conservative set of ranges. I really think it's much worse... 

     

    @43:00~ again, 98s, you are doing ICM calcs with azntracker shoving 24% if you were to fold your btn in a spot where he's shoving closer to ATC.

     

    I'm going to attribute this to you recovering from being sick - you made all the right plays in game at least so I'm assuming this was just a flub while recording the video which is understandable. 

    Looking forward to new vids from you and I'll be checking out the more recent ones in a bit. 

  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    12 Jul 2012 at 11:30am

    @AzeGallo Thanks for pointing out these errors! It's very easy to auto pilot on SNGwiz and forget to correct the "If Hero folds" ranges, which are usually horribly wrong. I still think these spots are worth discussing and I don't think any of them are landslide decisions, but the first thing that should be done is adjusting that function. Obviously it has a pretty dramatic affect on results.

     

    40:00 I think your ranges are pretty accurate so I agree with the -.22 number, hence it's a clear fold

     

    43:00 Using calling ranges of 3.3% and 13% and a shoving range of 90% for AZN and 23% for secky produces a -0.2 edge, again a fold.

     

    Again thanks for the corrections and I'll make sure to keep an eye out in future videos.

  • bjays87 bjays87 Poker Newbie
    1 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    15 Aug 2012 at 9:29pm
    ...how did you ever get so good to begin with DD
  • DustinBowman DustinBowman Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    131 Posts
    Re: DDBeast's $1000 6max HH Review With Focus on 3 and 4 Handed Play
    20 Aug 2012 at 9:36am
    Videos and Forums are pretty good resources...

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.