Chip's $11 45-man HH Review

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Jan 7th, 2011
By:
Chip Ferguson
Game:
SNG/MTT
Stake:
Small Stakes
Teaching Method:
Session Video 1 - 2 Table
Language:
English
Type:
Full Ring
3873 Views
14 Comments
8.1310
(8 Ratings) 8.13

Chip Furguson, one of BFP's newest coaches, reviews a 45-man SNG at the $11 level.

More From Chip Ferguson  Get RSS Feed For Chip Ferguson's Videos

Comments

  • ChipFerguson ChipFerguson Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    92 Posts
    Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    8 Jan 2011 at 1:29am
    Discussion for Chip's $11 45-man HH Review.
  • hobiejuan1 hobiejuan1 Poker Newbie
    8 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    8 Jan 2011 at 6:08am
    I'd rather see you play heads up cash
  • JasonSenti JasonSenti Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    422 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    8 Jan 2011 at 11:05am
    Great video, Chip! I had access to this early and watched it several times awhile back. I genuinely liked the vid a lot. Keep up the good work!
  • Tricarico Tricarico Poker Newbie
    41 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    9 Jan 2011 at 12:50pm
    Great vid!
  • jbenfatti jbenfatti Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    9 Jan 2011 at 7:11pm
    I really enjoyed the vid Chip! I was just confused about the fold you made with 88 on the button to the guy who shoved utg with like 6-7bb. This is a fold I would never make and maybe it is a leak in my game but I was hoping you could give a little more explanation as to why you made that fold and what types of hands you would need to make the call. Thanks alot!
  • thang911 thang911 Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    9 Jan 2011 at 11:44pm
    please not shove / fold only games like sngs, at least do the ftp sngs that have more play to them. would love to see mtt vids instead
  • SvenRipa SvenRipa Poker Newbie
    13 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    10 Jan 2011 at 12:50pm

    Just started to watch the vid and you folded 54s in the BB against a minraise and 2 callers, so you had 7-1 potodds to see a flop but you said you wouldn't call with 54s even if everybody called. I have basically no SNG experience but from a CG players view that seems just crazy. Could you please explain the logic behind folding there with those great odds to see a flop(you had 14bb and they all covered you)?

  • ChipFerguson ChipFerguson Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    92 Posts
    Re: Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    11 Jan 2011 at 3:53am

    .

  • ChipFerguson ChipFerguson Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    92 Posts
    Re: Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    11 Jan 2011 at 4:06am

    SvenRipa wrote:

    Just started to watch the vid and you folded 54s in the BB against a minraise and 2 callers, so you had 7-1 potodds to see a flop but you said you wouldn't call with 54s even if everybody called. I have basically no SNG experience but from a CG players view that seems just crazy. Could you please explain the logic behind folding there with those great odds to see a flop(you had 14bb and they all covered you)?

    There are a few reasons I'm not calling with 54s here. First, as you said I only had 14bb behind, so my implied odds are not that great for a hand where really I'm hoping to flop a draw. If I flop a pair it will probably be low pair, which I won't be too confident in. If I flop a draw, I'm so short that it's not going to play very well. For example say I flop a flush draw, then I guess I'd check/shove or something, hoping they fold. It's just not a great spot to get in really. Also I'm out of position, which isn't as huge a deal because I only have 14bb, but still not good. It would be better to call here if I had 100bb, and I really doubt that calling here in a cash game with 14bb would be profitable (I've never shortstacked full ring cash but I'm guessing it's mainly shove/fold and rarely calling, I may be wrong).

  • ChipFerguson ChipFerguson Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    92 Posts
    Re: Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    11 Jan 2011 at 4:09am

    jbenfatti wrote:

    I really enjoyed the vid Chip! I was just confused about the fold you made with 88 on the button to the guy who shoved utg with like 6-7bb. This is a fold I would never make and maybe it is a leak in my game but I was hoping you could give a little more explanation as to why you made that fold and what types of hands you would need to make the call. Thanks alot!

    No Limit Holdem Tournament • 9 Players
    $11+$1

    Converted by Bluefire Poker - Hand history Converter

    UTG 7280  
    UTG+1 11010  
    MP1 11620  
    MP2 6919  
    MP3 5440  
    CO 5455  
    me (BTN) 8771  
    SB 5440  
    BB 5565  

    Effective Stacks: 5bb

    Blinds 600/1200 Ante 75

    Pre-Flop (2475, 9 players)

    Hero is BTN

    h8c8

    UTG goes all-in 7205, 5 folds, me folds, 2 folds

    Final Pot: 9680

    Here is the hand just in case anyone wanted to play around with it in sngwiz or sngpt.

    Yeah this hand was really interesting, not from a standpoint of what that guy's range was, but more because even if he's shoving loose for that situation (remember he's UTG with 6bb and it's one spot until the bubble, so he will be tight generally), you really just can't call with anything except the huge hands (TT+,AKs according to SNGWiz if he's shoving loose). This is just a situation that is important to recognize, where you are middle of the pack and are not ITM, and calling would either bust you or leave you with 1-2bb, when you just have to fold almost everything essentially. Moving up the pay scale is so huge in these because if you were to bust now you'd get $0, whereas your expectation at this point in the tournament is probably somewhere in the neighborhood of $60 according to chip EV.
    As for my range here, it's probably TT+,AKo because the guy shoved UTG and given his stack size and the bubble scenario. Realistically, I think the only +EV calls in this exact situation are probably JJ+ (as shown when I adjusted his range to what I expected it to be: A5s+,A9o+,KJs+,44+), but realistically I wouldn't fault anyone for calling TT or AKs in this spot.
    If this were early on, say bb200 or bb400, I would definitely call, because busting in 20th place isn't as disastrous as busting in 9th. The bubble just results in really crazy situations, but it's by far the most important part to get good at, because that's where all the money is made. Realistically, calling with something like AJo in this spot is worse than almost anything you could do in a 45 man during bb20.
    The reason I review mainly late game situations in the videos is because it's so important in all types of SNGs. The people who do the best at these games know the math the best, it's just that simple.Yeah this hand was really interesting, not from a standpoint of what that guy's range was, but more because even if he's shoving loose for that situation (remember he's UTG with 6bb and it's one spot until the bubble, so he will be tight generally), you really just can't call with anything except the huge hands (TT+,AKs according to SNGWiz if he's shoving loose). This is just a situation that is important to recognize, where you are middle of the pack and are not ITM, and calling would either bust you or leave you with 1-2bb, when you just have to fold almost everything essentially. Moving up the pay scale is so huge in these because if you were to bust now you'd get $0, whereas your expectation at this point in the tournament is probably somewhere in the neighborhood of $60 according to chip EV.

    As for my range here, it's probably TT+,AKo because the guy shoved UTG and given his stack size and the bubble scenario. Realistically, I think the only +EV calls in this exact situation are probably JJ+ (as shown when I adjusted his range to what I expected it to be: A5s+,A9o+,KJs+,44+), but realistically I wouldn't fault anyone for calling TT or AKs in this spot.

    If this were early on, say bb200 or bb400, I would definitely call, because busting in 20th place isn't as disastrous as busting in 9th. The bubble just results in really crazy situations, but it's by far the most important part to get good at, because that's where all the money is made. Realistically, calling with something like AJo in this spot is worse than almost anything you could do in a 45 man during bb20.

    The reason I review mainly late game situations in the videos is because it's so important in all types of SNGs. The people who do the best at these games know the math the best, it's just that simple.

  • ChipFerguson ChipFerguson Bluefire Pro Poker Newbie
    92 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    11 Jan 2011 at 4:29am

    Also, check out my blog for info on how to get your hand histories reviewed in a blog or video. I won't be doing any HUNL videos because I'm definitely not qualified to do that, also I haven't really played that many MTTs. One thing I wouldn't mind doing is giving a HH from an MTT I final tabled and letting one of the MTT pros rip it apart exposing all the leaks haha. Anyways, as I mentioned in the blog if you have any HHs you'd like me to review, that include interesting late game situations, send them on over to bluefiresngHH@gmail.com and I'll pick some interesting ones for my next videos or blogs.

  • pettman18 pettman18 Poker Newbie
    1 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    14 Jan 2011 at 7:31am
    Please can you use the word obviously less. Stuff that might be obvious to you isn't guaranteed to be obvious to the people watching.
  • dynanmite dynanmite Poker Newbie
    13 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    19 Jan 2011 at 9:05am
    Great vid man, love the explanations. I used to only play sngs though so I was already aware of a lot of the stuff you talked about. My only complaint is the volume is kind of low, got the video and my speakers on max too, but I can deal with it.
  • dontwantasub dontwantasub Poker Newbie
    3 Posts
    Re: Chip's $11 45-man HH Review
    22 Feb 2011 at 1:40pm
    hi, thanks for the video, you seem to ignore icm at points in the video os there any reason for that (suggested 23s shove on bubble in vid 1) and also seems that you shove too tight with 2-3 tables left using chip ev (a lot of times with antes and 4-6bbs sng wiz suggests jamming any 2) do you believe people call really well in these or what is your reason for doing this? thanks

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.