Brian Reviews a $15 180man

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Aug 14th, 2011
By:
Brian Fite
Game:
SNG/MTT
Stake:
Small Stakes
Teaching Method:
Replayed Hands
Language:
English
Type:
Full Ring
2592 Views
20 Comments
9.7510
(4 Ratings) 9.75

Brian reviews a $15 180man.

More From Brian Fite  Get RSS Feed For Brian Fite's Videos

Comments

  • BrianFite BrianFite Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    161 Posts
    Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    15 Aug 2011 at 1:11am
    Discussion for Brian Reviews a $15 180man.
  • rextar rextar Poker Newbie
    52 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    15 Aug 2011 at 5:41pm
    thx!
  • earmchair earmchair Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    23 Aug 2011 at 1:37am
    Hi Brian, Could you show the math behind deciding what hands to raise-call shortstacks with? I have no clue what hands to do this with. Also, how big of a stack do you usually want before you start minraise stealing? Thanks
  • fulltiltplayer fulltiltplayer Poker Newbie
    9 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    25 Aug 2011 at 12:55am
    "I'm not saying that everything i do is 100% right" "no one on earth can look through my hand history and find a mistake" "not a person on the planet plays better than me" LOL a bit contradictory
  • BrianFite BrianFite Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    161 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    25 Aug 2011 at 6:54pm
    I dont have an exact formula to show when to raise/call short stacks. Its more of a "is this going to get through a lot, and how good of odds am I getting on the shortstack?" You should start posting hand histories of the spots you are unsure of so I can have a look. FTPlayer- I didnt mean to contradict myself, just wanted to be clear that I am the best at 180s, but not perfect. And that a lot of my ideas are subjective, but no one wants to object due to my best results.
  • earmchair earmchair Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    26 Aug 2011 at 3:53am
    Cool. Here's a couple of spots that I tend to struggle with. What should my range be in these and what should I be thinking about before making a decision? Poker Stars $2.28+$0.22 No Limit Hold'em Tournament - t600/t1200 Blinds + t125 - 7 players [url=http://www.deucescracked.com/?referrer=converter_dc]DeucesCracked Poker Videos[/url] [url=http://www.handconverter.com]Hand History Converter[/url] UTG+1: t9085 M = 3.40 [b]Hero (MP): t25918 M = 9.69[/b] [b]CO: t5710 M = 2.13[/b] BTN: t24856 M = 9.29 SB: t11631 M = 4.35 BB: t21636 M = 8.09 UTG: t32768 M = 12.25 [b]Pre Flop:[/b] (t2675) Hero is MP with X:heart: X:heart: [i]2 folds[/i], [color=red]Hero ?[/color] Poker Stars $2.28+$0.22 No Limit Hold'em Tournament - t600/t1200 Blinds + t125 - 7 players [url=http://www.deucescracked.com/?referrer=converter_dc]DeucesCracked Poker Videos[/url] [url=http://www.handconverter.com]Hand History Converter[/url] [b]BB: t27659 M = 10.34[/b] UTG: t33885 M = 12.67 UTG+1: t13619 M = 5.09 MP: t27694 M = 10.35 CO: t17372 M = 6.49 Hero (BTN): t30747 M = 11.49 SB: t4723 M = 1.77 [b]Pre Flop:[/b] (t2675) Hero is BTN with X:heart: X:heart: [i]4 folds[/i] Hero ? Thanks!
  • earmchair earmchair Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    26 Aug 2011 at 4:09am
    Yikes that's a bit of a mess. Here's links to the hands in question, try and ignore hole cards and actions if poss :) http://www.handconverter.com/hands/1422406 http://www.handconverter.com/hands/1419352
  • BrianFite BrianFite Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    161 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    26 Aug 2011 at 8:55am
    1st hand - yes, exactly a spot where to raise/call shorty and raise/fold to everyone else. 2nd hand - Again, perfect spot to execute this play. You have the right idea.
  • earmchair earmchair Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    26 Aug 2011 at 12:19pm
    But what kind of range should I be doing this with? What should I be thinking about when deciding whether to r/c in those hands?
  • BrianFite BrianFite Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    161 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    26 Aug 2011 at 4:12pm

    Thats the beauty of it, you can do it with almost ANYTHING because you are getting such great odds if the short stack gets in there. 

  • earmchair earmchair Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    27 Aug 2011 at 4:08am
    What about the other hand?
  • BrianFite BrianFite Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    161 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    27 Aug 2011 at 11:29am
    I mentioned the 2nd hand as well ^^
  • earmchair earmchair Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    28 Aug 2011 at 7:02am
    Forget it
  • htimsabbub23 htimsabbub23 Poker Newbie
    12 Posts
    back to back
    30 Aug 2011 at 10:27pm
    What do you do when you get back to back pocket pairs. i'm 60 bb deep raised mid position with 99 short stack re-raises me and I shove knowing his range is A5 or better. he calls with 88 and looses...the very next hand i pick up aces what do I do?
  • BrianFite BrianFite Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    161 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    1 Sep 2011 at 11:00am
    ^ answered in thread
  • Jackson007 Jackson007 Poker Newbie
    6 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    18 Sep 2011 at 5:59pm
    You spend the first 10 minutes totally ripping it out of the guy for raising 2.5x with 3s OTB because "you make all your money when you flop a set." When the fact is it doesn't matter at all whether its 2x or 2.5x in the first level. Then you talk about 3betting 8s to a min raise when tbh it seems like totally the worst option as if he did that then the villian would have hit top pair on the flop. What do u do then? call every street till you hit your set on the river? Or check fold after 3 betting to 900? The hand where the guy hit top set with Kings maybe the flop lead out was weird but after the villian called he seemed to play the hand perfectly and set the hand up to get stacks in on the river. You said bet an amount he will call, guess what he thought he would call the shove cos maybe he thought it looked weak and the villian would make a hero call. Does this review sound harsh? Well guess what. That's the way you sound every time you review someones play. Oh wait I almost forgot " No one will ever find a mistake in my hand history" LOLOLOL I switched the vid off at this point. Your obviously a good player but god damn ligthen up a bit when reviewing someones play.
  • rextar rextar Poker Newbie
    52 Posts
    Re: Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    18 Sep 2011 at 6:05pm

    Jackson007 wrote:

    You spend the first 10 minutes totally ripping it out of the guy for raising 2.5x with 3s OTB because "you make all your money when you flop a set." When the fact is it doesn't matter at all whether its 2x or 2.5x in the first level. Then you talk about 3betting 8s to a min raise when tbh it seems like totally the worst option as if he did that then the villian would have hit top pair on the flop. What do u do then? call every street till you hit your set on the river? Or check fold after 3 betting to 900? The hand where the guy hit top set with Kings maybe the flop lead out was weird but after the villian called he seemed to play the hand perfectly and set the hand up to get stacks in on the river. You said bet an amount he will call, guess what he thought he would call the shove cos maybe he thought it looked weak and the villian would make a hero call. Does this review sound harsh? Well guess what. That's the way you sound every time you review someones play. Oh wait I almost forgot " No one will ever find a mistake in my hand history" LOLOLOL I switched the vid off at this point. Your obviously a good player but god damn ligthen up a bit when reviewing someones play.

    my JJ instructor had a saying...."It's not sewing class ladies...".  I think it applies here.

  • BrianFite BrianFite Bluefire Pro Poker Trainee
    161 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    12 Dec 2011 at 5:42pm
    I dont at all try to be harsh. I just try to make my points very clear and I have always learned best when my mistakes were pointed out in a clear manner, with an explanation that was memorable. If I sometimes sound a little "harsh" please do not take it personally. It has nothing to do with any human individual, we are all just virtual players in a virtual game when I am reviewing on video. It is just a game, a game where good decision making wins and bad decision making loses and my job is to help you make better decisions and therefore make more money playing. And of course someone can find a mistake in a random HH of mine, I didnt mean it literally. I just mean I dont have any obvious leaks at the 180s that other players are exploiting. And remember, any time you are watching a video or reading a poker book, ect, that its just an individual sharing personal insight, knowledge and opinions. You dont always have to agree with them, or like what they have to say. Thats the beauty of this world though. You just have to learn to see the positive in things and life becomes easier and less stressful. Good luck.
  • nOnline nOnline Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    29 May 2012 at 10:06pm
    hello men good videos btw.. can i ask you this one 31:30 minutes how can u raise 58o there and fold to button shove even to sb its kinda strange!?
  • nOnline nOnline Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: Brian Reviews a $15 180man
    29 May 2012 at 10:22pm
    oh forget iam sleeping too little.. the table is short and u dont have the odds to call because the lack of antes

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.