Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises

This video is a two minute preview. To view the entire video, please sign in or Sign Up Now!

Dated:
Jan 14th, 2012
By:
Alix Martin
Game:
PLO
Stake:
Small Stakes
Teaching Method:
Concept Video
Language:
English
Type:
6 Max
1986 Views
11 Comments
6.3810
(13 Ratings) 6.38

Alix discusses check-raises and how you should treat them in PLO. 

More From Alix Martin  Get RSS Feed For Alix Martin's Videos

Comments

  • AlixMartin AlixMartin Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    117 Posts
    Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    15 Jan 2012 at 1:28am
    Discussion for Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises.
  • AaronPope AaronPope Poker Trainee
    252 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    16 Jan 2012 at 1:40pm
    Hi Alix, I'm amazed that someone would rate this a 1 and provide no feedback. I appreciate your style of analysis and input, and I felt this was a good video. I'd like to PM you some additional feedback as well. Thank you for bringing your own unique personal style to BFP, and please keep the analysis videos coming. I've love to see a betting tree analysis if you have one available on PLO or HU PLO, but I'm suspecting that the game may be too complicated for current tools. Anyway, thank you. Regards, Aaron
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    16 Jan 2012 at 7:39pm

    Hi Alix,

    i did not rate because i rarely play PLO, just a suggestion:

    even though i have solid math knowledge, the theory content you were presenting so far was either too advanced and/or not applicaple to self-improvement of poker theory for me, and my guess, for most members. i would like to see you doing APPLICAPLE game theory videos.

    thanks

    -Tom

  • AlixMartin AlixMartin Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    117 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    17 Jan 2012 at 2:48am
    Yes I'm aware that my theory videos are somewhat esoteric for many. However, is that a sufficient reason nopt to present original reserach that advances poker theory ? Maybe not !
  • shahrad shahrad Poker Newbie
    27 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    17 Jan 2012 at 5:16am
    I did rate it with one point. Why? Alix looks at stats says, ok we call, ok we fold, oh we have been right, he was bluffing, oh he had it. Would like to see the guys who did rate this vid with 10, writing about what they did learn from Alix comments.
  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    17 Jan 2012 at 9:33am

    AlixMartin wrote:

    Yes I'm aware that my theory videos are somewhat esoteric for many. However, is that a sufficient reason nopt to present original reserach that advances poker theory ? Maybe not !

    Of course, such content has its right to exist. But since this is a training site, non-applicable content should be the exception, not the rule.

    -Tom

  • AlixMartin AlixMartin Bluefire Pro Poker Pro
    117 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    17 Jan 2012 at 9:49am

    In my experience, working on game theory models of simplified poker situations is one of the most efficient ways of training for poker. It does require more effort than wtaching someone else make decisions at a bunch of tables, but if you can understand how a model works, internalize it's solution and what is exploitable if one of players deviate from it, you will have improved you poker mind.

  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    17 Jan 2012 at 11:10am

    I have worked out some concepts (more situational) by myself, using more basic game theory (GT). In my opinion, what you say in regards to the efficiency of GT work is true, especially nowadays, where so many concepts are common knowledge and therefore no edge-generator vs regs.

    I was just hoping to see more general videos on advanced GT content, so that i can get the tools to do my own work (= application of knowledge), instead of seeing you presenting yours, which i can not fully understand because of missing GT knowledge.

    Maybe it was just a misunderstanding on my part of what to expect from your videos.

  • tompoker88 tompoker88 Poker Trainee
    78 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    17 Jan 2012 at 8:29pm
    Just to clarify: The last sentence of my last post was not meant in the "better/worse than expected" sense, but in the goal you wanted to achieve with your vid(s).
  • MsBungle MsBungle Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    11 Jun 2012 at 1:53am
    In my experience, working on game theory models of simplified poker situations is one of the most efficient ways of training for poker. It does require more effort than wtaching someone else make decisions at a bunch of tables, but if you can understand how a model works, internalize it's solution and what is exploitable if one of players deviate from it, you will have improved you poker mind. I agree, and I wish for the ability to break these spots down more myself - so I watch Alix Martin's videos! They are a treat, even when they *ARE over my head! Absolutely cannot believe some of the comments in this thread!
  • MsBungle MsBungle Poker Newbie
    2 Posts
    Re: Alix Reviews PLO River Check-Raises
    11 Jun 2012 at 1:54am
    That was commenting on a quote above - couldn't find a button for that - oops!

You must be logged in to post comments. Take a minute to sign up if you don't yet have an account.